Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm brand new to beekeeping. I pick up a 5 frame nuc mid-April. I'm nervous because I don't want to do something wrong to hurt the bees. We are moving to our new acreages in June. I'm still picking up the bees this April even though I will not be there full time. I plan on setting the bees up , staying for 4 days, leaving and then returning every two weeks until I move early June. I have some basic questions: 1) I plan on filling the quart jar feeder when I leave in 4 days. So do I need to do something else? 2) Do I leave the bees with the bottom board in place or only the screen on bottom? 3) The nuc has 5 frames that will replace 5 frames in my langstroth box. This leaves 5 free frames. Will this be enough frames for the two weeks I'm gone? I've read so much and still have these basic questions. Can anyone help?

·
Registered
196 Posts
I would feed them really thin syrup (about half a gallon) so they draw out the frames. It will take them a couple days to draw out the frames and then the queen will start laying in about 3-4 days. I wouldn't worry as 2 weeks isn't much for the new brood to hatch. She will definitely fill the frames with eggs. Then again your climate is much different from mine so I don't know the main flow timing.

·
Super Moderator
11,167 Posts
Welcome to Beesource!

As your new bees are arriving in a nuc that already has some drawn comb, feeding is less critical than in a package that has no comb at all.

But if you are concerned about the quart jar not being enough while you are away, larger jars/buckets can be used above a hole in an inner cover. You can put an empty hive body over the bucket to protect it from the sun and put a top cover on that.

·
Registered
370 Posts