Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
All,
My brother has a colony of bees in the wall of his house. They have been there 15 plus years, but need to be removed. I would like to keep these bees because they are suvivors that have lived next door to me for 15 years. They are the hive that got me intersted. Any help would be appreciated because I am a newbie. Thanks for all the help!

·
Registered
10,025 Posts
The only way to get the bees out and not leave a mess for rodents, other insects and disease to get into the wall is to remove the siding or sheating (or dywall from the inside): cut the comb out and move it to supers, tied to frames with string or rubber bands; brush the bees out of the cavity: clean as much of the comb and hive residue out to prevent rodents and diseases; seal the wall very well especially where they got in in the first place. If you just vacuum the bees out, kill them, or trap what leaves the wall, there will still be comb within the wall that will attract more insects, rodents and diseases.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I am planning on starting to remove bees and comb / honey and putting this in a brood box and shutting them up after they go to the queen (if I can find her) I thought if I put the brood in the box and let it sit in front of the hive for a couple of days they would follow and go to the brood. What do you think?

·
Registered
10,025 Posts