Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
142 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to this so I have a newbee question. I have and see a lot of very dark comb, black in some cases. Would you use this in a supper you intended eating or sell the honey out of?

TIA

wkinne

·
Banned
2,668 Posts
Re: How dark of comb would you use in a supper?

If you are extracting, dark combs are fine.

If you are doing cut comb honey, I would NOT use old dark combs. They will be tough and difficult to chew.

As long as you are not dumping toxic chemicals into your hives, I see little reason to rotate out old combs.

·
Registered
1,028 Posts

If you are extracting, dark combs are fine.

As long as you are not dumping toxic chemicals into your hives, I see little reason to rotate out old combs.
Disease buildup. What if you never changed your sheets on your bed?

·
Registered
2,274 Posts

How old are these combs? Just because they're dark doesn't make them unusable. The honey will be fine as long as you're extracting, although some people think it makes the honey darker. It's the same honey the bees put into new combs!

·
Banned
2,668 Posts

Disease buildup.

Disease buildup? What's that? Either you have diseases, or you don't. Whether or not you have diseases is not a function of how dark your honey super combs are.

What if you never changed your sheets on your bed?

That's comparing apples to oranges. Combs get disinfected all the time, as the bees cover the combs with honey and propolis, which have extremely good disinfectant properties.

A better comparison would be, how long would you use your dishes if you cleaned and disinfected them regularly? They might chip an edge, or discolor if they are plastic, but they would still be fine to use even though they may not be the prettiest to the eye anymore.

How long do you use your old wood handled steak or butcher knives? Do you think twice about using them?

·
Registered
2,944 Posts