Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
204 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Received my package bee's on June 15th. I have nothing to compare to since this is my first year, however I think they are doing well. Just checked both hives this morning. Each hive has the bottom chamber full of brood and some honey and pollen. Workers are cleaning cells now from newly emerged brood. Both are drawing comb in the top chamber each have 2 fully drawn frames and 2 that are 50% done. The queen has been in the top within the last 3 or 4 days because I can see larva.

My question is how big can I expect the hive to be by fall? Is it normally one chamber or 2? I really thought about making a nuc by taking a frame of brood from each hive and some stores and get a local queen. Not sure that is a sound plan or not.

Thanks
Greg

·
Registered
1,148 Posts
I would not remove frames for a nuc this time of the year. If you did it would nee to be 3 or 4 frames not 1. I like to have our hives with two deep boxes drawn out, full of bees, and the top box full of honey for over wintering. Your hives sound like they are on their way, but I would not reduce the population.
Dave

·
Registered
60 Posts
This late in the season I'd concentrate on keeping your two hives alive and not bother with making a nuc. They are still building up and with any luck they will go into winter with two full brood boxes. Are you feeding them? I have one weak hive that sounds like yours and I'm feeding them in hopes that they will build up the second brood box enough to make it through winter. However I expect that I'll be worrying about them until spring.

·
Registered
204 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·