Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
516 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I broke down and bought the Varrox Wand (Fleabay $100) but in an earlier thread that I had asked about the various equipment, there was new)mention of burning the bottom board and as a first year beek, I had my normal panic. (keeping in mind for a living I manage 9 $ figure scale unionized heavy construction projects and never loose my cool-bees-well, I'm new at it:eek:) I did not want to set my hives on fire after getting this far with only a few incidents. In reading the recent newsletter of the NJBA's May/June, there was a small article on a Swedish designed hot box for vaping from the top down. The whole thing, in simple terms involves a wooden frame that mounded on top of the hives, with a slot that the wand lays in and the vapors go down through the hive. Seemed like an easier system for the Varrox and limits the potential fire hazards. Below is a link (in Swedish which I don't speak either) to some video's-if I could figure out how to do a link to the article I would.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nSy_gM1uqT8&feature=youtu.be

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w9JSdu_9pr8&feature=youtu.be

Hey, the invented IKEA, what could go wrong?

LB

·
Registered
3,093 Posts
Some people make a shim with a slot and do it from the top. You still have to be careful that the wand doesn't rest on the top bars. Most slide in a thin sheet of metal on the bottom board such as flashing. J

·
Registered
2,411 Posts
The Varrox doesn't have a thermostat or any other form of temperature cut-out, and I'm surprised it continues to be sold without one. Nevertheless, it's a useful piece of kit if used sensibly. Just don't get distracted and walk away leaving it connected ! :)