Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
If you've read my intro you know that I'm REALLY new to beekeeping (I'm in the process of planning my first two hives). I have a small (84 acres) farm that we use for a plethora of different activities. We alternate soybeans and corn, have a great whitetail deer population for meat, and we have a few horses and goats. My question involves placement of the hive. I've read that horses and bees don't mix. Obviously I'd never ride my horses up to check on the hives, but what is the appropriate buffer to keep between the penned horses and the hives? The spot that I have picked out for the hives (slightly elevated, wind buffered, sunny all day except for late afternoon, and immediately adjacent to an orchard). Unfortunately this area is only about 150 yards from the horse pasture. Is that too close?

·
Registered
833 Posts
Hello; I have had horses in the past as well as cows and pigs. Horses like to kreb (chew),rub and just check things out, cows just plain like to rub on anything and pigs will root up everything. so the best thing to do is keep all things seperated by VERY good fenceing. Keep at least 10-12 ft. from fence and hives so the horses can not reach over to chew or nuzzle the hives or suppers. I always used cow panels ( the galvanized welded wire type) that came in 16 ft lenghts. Jim

·
Registered
25 Posts