Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,
First I am so happy to find this forum and hope to get some great advice and use it to better my beekeeping. I got my first hive from a good friend last spring (2013). As the hive increased last summer, the bees were only able to get one super of honey stored, so I left that for them to winter on. As I inspected the hive today, I notice that there was uncapped larva curled horizontily at the bottom of several cells in the honey super. I am using a excluder so my assumption is that the queen could not get through it to lay eggs there. Is my hive in trouble? Since I am new to all of this, I apologize for any stupid questions I might ask here or in the future. I also notice what appear to be queen cells build and open, not capped, that are empy. What do I do to fix this problem or is there a problem to worry about? I have another super to add, but don't want to add it until I figure this out first. Thank you all in advance for reading and any advice you can offer would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!!

Jeff

·
Registered
535 Posts
Need more info.
Were the empty queen cells above or below the excluder?
Do you have eggs/larva/capped brood above or below?
How many, what size boxes is your brood nest.
Did you leave the excluder on all winter?

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Wolfer - Queen Cells were above excluder ( I assume they are queen cells, just larger than a worker cell). I did not see eggs though I need to look more closely, Larva did exist above the excluder and the cells with larva were uncapped. Larva was white, and curled laying at the bottom of the cells that were uncapped, not upright. I have one deep hive body on bottom, then one medium super above that, both 10 frames, then an excluder, then a medium honey super, inner cover, then outer cover. Yes I left the excluder on all winter.

·
Registered
535 Posts