Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello,

I just started my hive in late May,(package bees) my question is when can I put my honey supers on? or do I? the hive was given to me by a friend. All the boxes are shallows..Queen is doing good, have about 3-4 frames full of caped brood and about the same with honey..

any suggestions???

·
Super Moderator
11,067 Posts
Generally, put on an additional box when the lower box is 75%-80% full. In a 10 frame hive, that would be about 8 frames.

·
Registered
14 Posts
I'm a newbie, too, but I have a question for you. Do you think using all shallows will give you enough comb for the bees to store enough to get through winter? The man who taught the class I took (he's been doing it for 30 yrs) suggests using a deep for the brood box, & mediums for the rest. That way there's plenty of space for a good, strong colony to build up stores. I'm located in the NC foothills west of Charlotte, so you probably have a bit longer winters than we do.

·
Super Moderator
11,067 Posts
Technically, the term 'super' is a reference to the boxes above the brood nest, not the boxes that comprise the brood nest. From the Beesource Glossary ...

Super: A wooden box with frames containing foundation or drawn comb in which honey is to be produced. Named for its position above the brood nest. The same type of box is referred to as a hive body when it is situated below the honey supers and is intended to be used for brood rearing and pollen storage.

http://www.beesource.com/forums/showthread.php?237911-Beekeeping-Glossary
I use mediums for ALL boxes, including the brood nest. The disadvantage is that it takes more mediums for a given brood area volume than if one used deeps, but on the flip side there is only one size box/frame to inventory, and I can move frames around however I want.

·
Registered
374 Posts