Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first year to make a pretty good surplus. I ended up with about 20 gallons of honey in 3 gallon buckets. The problem is some of my buckets seem high in moisture. They range from 17.75 to 19. I think a lot of it is clover but not 100 percent sure. I heard clover is ok if it is that high. What should I do? I have had it in the buckets for about a month and it seems ok but how can I be sure? Most of it were completely capped but some was only 3/4 capped.

·
Registered
1,039 Posts
19 percent honey can ferment...in fact it in all likely hood will. I would eat it quick or heat it to about 140 then cool quickly. ....even better would be to dry it using a dehumidifier

·
Registered
475 Posts
Put the buckets in closed room with the temp high and take the lids off. Turn the dehumidifier on to run permanently

·
Registered
208 Posts
I have had mine in a small bathroom with a dehumidifier for about a month now. I bought a "remote" sensor for temperature and humidity from Radio Shack for around $35 and the room stays at about 33% humidity and 103 degrees. I can check it without actually going in the room.

My 20 gallons (in 5 gallon buckets) has moved from 21+ percent to an average of 18.5 percent. I'm going to leave it a little longer to try to get to an average of 18 percent. I stir it every day.

The frames were 95+ percent capped. I have left the rest of the honey on the hives hoping it will be dry by the time I get to it.

I've learned my lesson. Check it before you harvest it and let it dry naturally. This has been a lot of work and hassel.

Fuzzybeekeeper

·
Registered
1,036 Posts