Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,066 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hubby wants my bee stuff out of the garage and out of our house! (He's beginning to sound like a wife! :D) He's willing to build me something but I have no clue of what that might look like. I'm a hobbyist, at this point not thinking more than 10 hives ultimately. Would probably also house some garden tools and such. Any recommendations for size and setup? Anyone have any pictures you would be willing to post? I'm starting from scratch so I would like to do this right. Thanks.

·
Registered
2,949 Posts
Here is a garden house my husband and I built. I love the post and perlin style of construction. You build it mostly on the ground and just raise it up.

Space between the posts is 10 feet. Scissor or valted trusses. Interior is shown with twin wall polycarbonate roof and sides.

·
Registered
2,949 Posts
Here are two photos I took off the internet of hive houses. Do a search on European houses, they have the best designs

·
Registered
2,949 Posts
Here is where I am going to build my honey processing room. I built it a few years ago for a wash stall for my horses, but it wasn't quite right for the large volume of water washing the horses would have created and it has just been a storage room until now. It has a slightly sloped concrete floor with a small 6" drain-good enough to drain off hot water from spraying off all the honey processing equipment after use. Bottom 4' of wall is rubber matted, top half is cedar stained and sealed well with spar urethane.
8'X12' room will be easy to heat and big enough for a 3 compartment sink, good sized honey extractor, holding tank and lots of 5 gallon buckets. East facing window keeps the room warm without additional heat. I'll have to build a door to keep out the bees, but that is no big deal.
Hope these photos help!

Heres how the room was framed:

The other half of this stall is my canning room

·
Registered
1,066 Posts