Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi,

I live in St. George, Utah, the northern extent of the Mojave desert, with temps in the 100s for a number of days. I have a TBH with holes drilled in the side. The bees will not build comb past the closest hole to the brood and may have already thrown off a swarm, but seem to be working hard to rebuild , noticing about 5 queen cells at the far end of the hive where I could leave a space for the entrance if I block the holes to supposedly enable the bees to build past the holes.

1. Should I change the entrance?

2. Should I have a hive ready nearby to split or catch the next swarm?

Thoughts anyone?:eek::eek::s

Thanks for any and all help! 0131151626-00.jpg

·
Registered
477 Posts
I have no experience with entrance holes in the side middle. I have a few hives with entrance holes in the side end and they do not put brood in those frames, just pollen and nectar. The vast majority of my hives have an upper entrance made with a 1/2 by 3/4 "bar", that slides left or right on a nail to adjust the opening size.
Yes, you should always have a hive nearby for a swarm, queen cells, splits, holding combs, etc.

·
Registered
202 Posts
I prefer entrances near both ends of the box. When the colony is just a few frames I block part of one entrance and place the follower board tight up behind them with just one empty bar or frame for growth. As the colony grows I open up the entrance and move the follower board back. When the box is over half full I start using a follower with a small opening in it so that they can use the entrance on the far end of the box. Eventually the follower is back far enough to expose part of the rear entrance, which is also when the hive is big enough to need the extra ventilation.