Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
When I performed my first hive inspection (about 10 days ago) I noticed a quarter sized hole in the foundation. This was frame number 5 and the hole was at the bottom of the wax foundation. It did not look like anything was eating it. It almost looked as if it had just melted away. Any idea how this happened? This is one of two hives I started this year from package bees. They are my first two hives so I am a beginner. I plan on doing another inspection in a day or two depending on the weather.

Thanks

·
Registered
375 Posts
The girls are the likely culprits. I've seen them make communication holes on the side of the foundation. Sometimes they deconstruct part of the foundation for use elsewhere.

·
Registered
290 Posts
Several of my drawn out frames have quarter-sized holes at one or both bottom corners. I just figured the girls had created some shortcuts because the comb around the holes looked perfectly sound.

·
Registered
110 Posts
Question about the hole. When I put my foundation (wax with metal edge) in my frames to hive my pkgs May 3rd all my foundation had a precut hole in them. I installed with hole to top and all on one side of hive body (i'll check that next inspection). I thought it was there so the bee's could get to frame to frame. My question is this. Will they build comb over that hole or do they leave it for passage?

·
Registered
507 Posts
They are normal. Some folks call them communication holes, I think of them as shortcuts from one side to the other without having to go all the way around the frame.

Perfectly natural.

·
Banned
2,668 Posts
I installed with hole to top and all on one side of hive body (i'll check that next inspection).

I think the holes in Duragilt are supposed to go to the bottom of the frame.

Will they build comb over that hole or do they leave it for passage?