Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Again, this is my first year and have 3 hives and have been feeding my hives sugar syrup since spring. I was told to keep feeding them syrup and they will let you know when to stop feeding them when they stop taking it, well, mine never really stopped. Two of my hives are doing great, one is a package and the other is a nuc with about 10 frames full of honey each and they are busy and doing great. My question is, is the honey that they produced sugar syrup honey or the real thing? I did take a couple frames and the honey turned out to be really light in color. What do you think, real honey or not?

·
Registered
2,305 Posts
The light syrup is stored sugar syrup. It has been digested by the bees with their enzyme invertase, so is the now concentrated glucose+fructose mix like honey, but is missing all the trace ingredients for full flavor.

The "bee will stop taking syrup" is a generalization that hardly applies. Bees will recruit and optimize to any source of calories, if they perceive the syrup to have the right combination of proximity and sweetness, they will backfill their broodnest with to the point they swarm.

·
Registered
3,799 Posts
Definitely NOT real honey.

You were given incomplete advice. Feeding needs to be combined with inspections and the determination made to stop feeding or not made at least some of the time by the beekeeper. I look at several things including 1) availability of natural forage 2) ability of field force to gather the natural forage and 3) what have they got for stores in the hive? If you are in a flow and they've got plenty of older bees to serve in the field force and they've got plenty of stores than I would stop feeding. The time of year factors in and what the bees have drawn out too.