Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
177 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All,

I'm a bit distressed. I just went into the hive. The first time in a few months due to the cold weather and rain in my region.

As this is my first year, I'm not quite sure what the hive is supposed to look like in terms of health.

I didn't see a whole lot of bees, and I observed no larvae. I did see capped cells, but I don't know whether there is anything alive underneath the cap. There are frames with pollen, and frames with honey. Some cells are uncapped with nectar/honey. I did not see a queen.

I'm a bit at a loss as to what to do now.

Help.

Thanks.

DG

·
Registered
177 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hello Hawk,

I don't. My plan WAS to add one and split this current one as the Spring came, but now it looks as though I'm in for 3 packages and starting over. If that is the case, any suggestions on what to do with my two deeps that are partially filled with honey and pollen?

Thanks.

DG

·
Registered
3,414 Posts
Capped cells with browish caps, or caps that
were more whitish?

Browinsh capped cells tend to be brood.
Whitish are honey.

Don't be too worried just yet, it is still
early for your area, and finding the queen
is not as easy as you might think.

·
Registered
177 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Jim,

Caps are dark, but they're really spread out. No definable pattern. If a colony could make it back from the number of bees I see, I'll be stunned.

Anyone have advice on introducing new package to existing hive structure, should that be required?

In other words, I have frames full of honey, pollen, etc. Any thoughts on adding a new package to such a situation?

Thanks.

DG

·
Vendor
Local feral survivors in eight frame medium boxes.
54,120 Posts