Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm a newbie keeper and have a question. How much forward tilt should a hive have to allow drainage of condensation? I've got them tilted some but still have some moisture inside the top cover. We'll be terribly hot and humid here in Alabama in a few weeks and I just wanted to make sure I've got it right. Thanks!

·
Super Moderator
11,057 Posts
Welcome to Beesource!

I think the answer to condensation within the hive is to improve airflow. Some beeks do this with top vents (assuming maintaining a bottom entrance). My hives have permanent top entrances.

·
Registered
2,064 Posts
Tilt your hives at least 1 inch lower in the front. It is for condensation mainly in the winter when the hive is all wrapped up. However in early spring when the hives still cluster and the entrance is still reduced till the hive has gotten brooded up good it can still make the diff between a good thriving hive and a dead one. There will always be some moisture in the hive as the bees pack in nectar and dry it though. This can be helped as Rader S has mentioned, a top entrance or a vented top cover in some method. Myself I use a top feeder and it allows the moisture up. it has a screened hole on the back side so that the bees cannot enter it and allows the moisture to be fanned from below up through the hive and out. Effective yet non disruptive to the hives.

·
Registered
1,352 Posts
I raise the back edge 1/4-1/2" and never have any problem with a wet bottom board.

Ventilation is the only way i know of to prevent condensation at the top of a hive, and is one of the reasons I often use a top entrance.

·
Registered
5,400 Posts