Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Appreciate your insights. I'm new to bee keeping and the forum.

Installed a package of Russian Carniolan Bees into a 10 frame deep super and left a frameless short (shallow) super stacked above the 10 frames. The shallow super above was left without frames, as I was going to pull it and add an additional 10 frame deep super as a second brood frame. (You prob' can see where this is going.)

I went in to Swap out the frameless shallow super for the intended deep super and... the bees have been busy filling the empty space provided by the frameless short super with their own configuration of comb. My question is, what now?

Do I,
1) leave the established deep (10 framed) and shallow (unframed with their structure) as undisturbed as possible and add another shallow 10 frame super above for brood (creating 1 deep and the space of 2 shallow for brood),

2) leave the established deep (10 framed) and shallow (unframed with their structure) undisturbed and add a queen excluder and shallow 10 frame for honey?

3) move / reorganize the architecture they've filled onto the frameless shallow super?

4) other?

Greatly appreciate the insights, and direction.
Clearly I need to be looking in on them more often. Got that!

~TJ

·
Registered
2,330 Posts
I would remove the wonkey comb as soon as possible. Then make your decisions based upon how much time you want to spend on this. Foundation-less has to be monitored more closely than foundation.

·
Registered
5 ,8 ,10 frame, and long Lang
2,803 Posts
depends on how full the super is.
if less than 1/2 I would do as advise cut it out and put the next framed box on.
If greater than 1/2 full it is going to be a bit harder to just toss it all.

either way the comb can be cut out and ate, or leave it out for the bees to empty.