Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A friend of my wife has a hive living in a tree near her house, and another friend has a hive living in a wall of her house.

Since they know I am an amateur bee keeper, they asked me about removing them.

Now if this was a swarm, I'd know what to do, although I've never done that before.

But what do you do with an established hive? It would really be a shame to let this resource go to waste.

·
Registered
175 Posts
Trees are most times a trap out. The house can be a trap out or a removal (cut out). It depends on where the bees are and the structure.

·
Registered
760 Posts
jason

the tree one ....

if its a tree that can go - just cut the tree down and cut about 10 feet above it - then cut down until you get to top of the comb

cap the ends with plywood and take home - from there you you will do what is know as a cut out - its messy but sometimes worth it - just split the log or cut it lenghtwise to open the hive and take the combs and cut to fit into empty frames - then use rubber bands to hold them in there **** but keep them in the up right direction - if you put them in upside down they will reject the combs and brood -

On the House one

depensing on were it is in the house i find it easier to take it from the inside and cut drywall but thats because i do drywall but it just depends on where in the house it is located
ive only took one out of a house and it was in a utility room wall
but you might have to take siding off to get in to it
but after you get it open - just work slow and do a cut out as before
just put the house back together and FILL the area with foam or insilation - otherwise other bees Will come back and start over

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #4