Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello.
This is my first post to this forum. I'm a newb, enrolled in a beekeeper's beginner class that hasn't started yet, and I've been reading and researching ahead of class. I'm pretty adept at self learning, will be setting up two hives, and I have already ordered bees (1 nuc, one box) and hive hardware, given advice from my bee teacher.

I am contemplating my options for where to locate my hives (starting two colonies) this upcoming Spring when I start out. I am showing several pics of my 1 acre residential lot with some distances measured from satellite images (Google Maps is awesome). My lot is fairly large for a residential neighborhood, as are my neighbors (all about 1 acre), but as you'll see, mine is a corner lot, so we have a very small backyard, and instead we have two "side" yards. We also have a swimming pool and I'd like to position the hives in such a manner as to minimize intrusion on that area.

Our kids are mature teens/early 20's who can be responsible about the hives. We have two small dogs with free reign (invisible fence collars) to the entire yard.

Here is an overall pic of our lot (note that I was lucky with the Google images, and the shadows help illustrate the sunrise):

Location Option #1 would be on the side of the house opposite of the pool:

One issue with Option #1 is that we get a LOT of foot traffic along the roads on this corner lot. I'm trying to be discrete about the hives so as not to raise alarm my neighbors. It is perfectly legal to have hives where we live, though there are folks who are instinctively afraid of bees and I really don't want to get into arguments with them or my HOA. If I chose Option #1 above, I would consider installing raised flower/veggie garden beds around as a distraction. This would be nice to have, but a much bigger expense of money and time.