Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbee to beesource. My name is Pam Lenon, and I am a clinical psychologist working in Queens, NY as the assistant director of a residential treatment facility for emotionally disturbed children. I live in CT where I share beekeeping with my neighbor, of two hives... soon to be four,in the spring!
My husband wants to build insulation jackets for my hives using 2" thick, pink, hard foam insulation planks. He knows that moisture buildup can be a problem, but thinks that several notches in the roof panel edges will suffice. He is not sure if the hives bottom should also be insulated. We would appreciate any thoughts about this effort.

·
Registered
2,488 Posts
Off topic, I'm a baritone myself. :eek:

In winter the bees heat the cluster (themselves) not the hive. If it was a screened bottom board I would say to change it to solid just to keep drafts out.

The insulation will help in keeping out the wind, but there are mixed results as to if it helps the bees at all. The real problem with insulation is the condensation build up that can drip cold water back onto the bees. Wet bees equals dead bees so if you wrap, make sure you have good ventilation in the top and an opening in the bottom to circulate the air. If you have humid winters (here in Colorado we have dry cold) this is really going to be a problem so I would recommend against it and still have an upper entrance to get rid of moist air.

good luck and welcome.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·