Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I am new to beekeeping, and unfortunately out of excitement I purchased a hive and bees before doing all the research I probably should have done. I now have the Beekeepers Handbook and do research when I can. I have a single brood box with Italian honey bees, and I am located in the high desert of California. I previously inspected the hive after introduction and the queen was accepted and released, and I have a ladder feeder using a 1:1 sugar water ratio. Today is day 9 after introduction and I performed an inspection, I have a few questions I would like a more experienced confident beekeepers advice on. In the two pictures attached, the picture of the frame I believe shows a section of capped off cells with some larva cells on the perimeter. The box has about 4 frames with comb being built but this is the only frame with any brood cells. In my research generally the honey comb and the brood cells are much darker, is this a concern? Should I have more brood cells than this after day nine, I started with brand new frames and no starter comb. The frame with brood cells is only two frames away from the feeder and not in the middle, is this an issue? I have read it should be centered. Lastly out of curiosity the other picture shows some of the bees with pollen sacs, what do the different color sacs mean? Different types of pollen? I want to ensure my hive is healthy any advice is definitely welcome! Thanks!

IMG-2321.jpg IMG-2322.jpg

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Could the orange be from anything else? We do not have poison ivy in the desert as far as I am aware. Is the orange bad will it hurt the hive?

·
Registered
11,691 Posts