Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
1,019 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi: I was wondering if there are any beekeepers that can give tips or share their lessons learned about keeping bees at high elevation.

I live at 7000 feet on the Colorado Rockies.

·
Registered
1,222 Posts
I have been keeping bees in high elevation (7000') for 23 years. My yard locations provide micro-climate temperature variations. Humidity is quite low year round, high summer daily temperatures, rapid cool-downs after sunset. I have managed to keep my bees alive and productive. I inspected 3 yards yesterday (33 colonies) and found 2 hives had died out. Bees were starting to collect pollen in abundance (Siberian elm). The best 'tip" I would offer is to raise your own local bees (splits) from established healthy colonies. Raise your own queens and also introduce locally bred and adapted regional queens for genetic diversity. Refrain from package bees. Don't rob your colonies in the fall of their hard earned honey stores and feed back sugar syrup. Secure good yard locations for your bees.

·
Vendor
Local feral survivors in eight frame medium boxes.
54,120 Posts
I had bees in Laramie (7,200 feet). The two hard things are the constant wind and the extreme cold. They still manage to do pretty well considering that if the books are right, then they could probably only fly two days out of the year... ;)

·
Registered
1,527 Posts
I keep a few colonies in Rye and Beulah (6800 ft and 6400 ft), they actually do really well. I don't overwinter them there, I bring them back to the plains. And then there's the bears.

·
Registered
1,019 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I'm trying to stay with locally raised bees and splits. This year I'm going to try overwintering Nucs. I'm not there yet with queen rearing. My planned hive set up is 2 deeps for the bees and medium supers for honey collection. I have bear resistant fencing (electric). Thanks for the advice!

·
Registered