Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey, I am a novice beekeeper and hope to get started this spring. Id really like to meet any beekeepers close to Putnam county that could mentor me or give me any recommendations from whom I should buy my first supplies and bees

Thanks in advance!!

Steven

·
Registered
574 Posts
Hello from E. TN... there are a lot of great mentors hanging out around here... but some of the best to learn from may not be local. Michael Bush, Grant, Iddee, and many others are absolutely masters at this and worth listening to. As for an in-person mentor, I would check with the Putnam county beekeepers association.

As for recommendations on supplies and bees... I would recommend Dadant and Walter T. Kelley for supplies, though I know other people have had great luck out of other suppliers so far I have just used those and haven't had a single problem with either of them. For bees, I recommend going and getting a swarm next spring instead of buying bees... unless you are intending to start with a great number of hives. Swarms from feral honey bees are generally more hardy and will survive longer... plus they are free.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hey thanks for the response!!

I checked with http://www.tnbeekeepers.org/ and sadly it doesnt seem Putnam county has a branch :(, however, I did email the president of the Overton county branch and am awaiting a response from him. I actually had already looked through much of what Dadant offers and was impressed, so that's encouraging! I was planning on buying one of their starter kits... such as "M58101 HONEY OF A HOBBY BEGINNER KIT NO 1" along with perhaps another assembled hive as I would liek to start with two... do you think that is the right path to take?