Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to beekeeping, and my husband and I finally decided that we want to add bees to our little farm. (I have chickens, turkeys and Quail) I'm excited to get started, and have been reading everything and anything I can to learn. I have been buying local honey for a few years now, to combat my family's allergies, and it has worked so well, it's amazing.

I realize I should start a new hive in the spring, but what about purchasing an established hive (then adding more in the spring)? Can this be done in mid-summer?

Thanks, and I'm glad I found you all!

·
Registered
95 Posts
Welcome!

Depending on location and availability, there are breeders who sell whole hives. Pricey, but they do sell them.
Another more economical option would be to buy a Nucleus hive(Nuc Hive). Which typically consists of 5 frames, opposed to 8 or 10.
You could always buy more at any time really up until late summer, its getting kind of late in the year as of now though.

·
Vendor
Local feral survivors in eight frame medium boxes.
54,171 Posts
>I am new to beekeeping, and my husband and I finally decided that we want to add bees to our little farm. (I have chickens, turkeys and Quail)

Wow! You're on Long Island, population 7,740,208... or NYC if you like, population 8,405,837... I live just outside Nehawka, Nebraska, population 204 (according to the 2010 census) and they won't let anyone have chickens or turkeys or quail or anything else they could possibly call livestock... it's great to live in a free country...

I think bees will be a wonderful addition to your farm.

·
Registered
34,542 Posts