Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’m brand new to keeping bees. Got 2 packages first of May. The second week of May I stumbled upon a swarm and captured it. However by the time I got to the swarm it was very small, it had been there for several days and many bees were dead on ground underneath it. I brought it home and have been feeding religiously. Yesterday I opened and checked the frames for the first time and they are drawing comb, queen is laying, saw capped brood as well as eggs, however they have only drawn out approximately 1 frame worth. I don’t really have the resources in my other hives to add capped brood to this swarm hive, but can I spray some bees from my package hives with sugar water and shake into the struggling hive to help them out? I would estimate the population about 1/4 of the package of bees I got so that would put it around 800 or so.

·
Registered
1,822 Posts
it had been there for several days and many bees were dead on ground underneath it.
Many dead bees under the swarm after only a few days gives me pause for the existence of a bigger problem, do you have a mentor or experienced individual you can ask to take a look at the colony?

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Many dead bees under the swarm after only a few days gives me pause for the existence of a bigger problem, do you have a mentor or experienced individual you can ask to take a look at the colony?
No, I live in very rural area and don’t know anyone else that keeps bees. I am fairly certain they were dead due to pesticide use. My guess is they were originally brought in for canola pollinating and swarmed from one of those hives. The weather has been very wet and after bees were removed a lot of pesticide was sprayed.

·
Registered
2,400 Posts