Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
8,186 Posts
Too much time spent in a colony obviously that new, often results in the queen being killed by workers who blame her for your intrusions. It is tempting and the bees are not defensive, but after seeing the brood, you have no more to learn. Fill the feeder and get out is my best advice.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
what did you need identified?
Sorry for lack of what I was asking for. This is my second time in 3 yrs as a hobbyist, my first was a little learning lesson but it seemed the more I tried learning the more complicated it was. I wish I had a mentor in my area to work with.
But I don't know what I am looking at when I look at the frames. And was hoping to get a little insight from the more experienced as to what they see, and I realize the photographer didn't do a good job. Apologies in advance.

·
Registered
6,004 Posts
We see lots of bees and open brood.
That's about it.

You kinda need to be deliberate and purposeful and have some objective when looking at bees.
Otherwise, why bother looking at them.
So what is you objective when looking at bees?

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
We see lots of bees and open brood.
That's about it.

You kinda need to be deliberate and purposeful and have some objective when looking at bees.
Otherwise, why bother looking at them.
So what is you objective when looking at bees?
To try and see or put in prospective what I have read or learned.

·
Registered
1,266 Posts
everything looks good to me.

Before you start an inspection decide what the purpose of the inspection is and that will help guide you what to look for.

When I am inspecting a hive I am looking for some combination of the following things:
  • swarm cells to indicate a hive is trying to swarm and that I need to find the queen and split it
  • eggs and/or young larve to indicate the presence of a laying queen