Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am still very new to bee keeping. Last year I had my first colony of bees but they didn’t make it through the winter. I got the original colony from Kelley Beekeeping and was pleased with them so I ordered again this year through them. I got a package of pure Russians. I picked them up this past Saturday and temps were cooler than I’d have liked - mid 50s.

When I got home I quickly installed them. They seemed very lethargic during the install but the queen seemed healthy and I chalked it up to the colder temps. Today - two days later - I went to check on them and switch from an in hive feeder to a hive top feeder. It’s a mid 60s day and right away I noticed there were no guard bees at the entrance. When I opened the hive there seemed to be a low number of bees in the hive, mostly around the feeder. The queen seemed to be in good health but then I noticed what appeared to be the majority of my package dead on the bottom board.

I removed the box to get a better look at them and noticed most of them were dead but a large number - maybe 1/3 - appear to just be very lethargic. They were very slowly crawling over the pile. In an effort to help them I spread the mound around to allow whatever bees were alive a better chance at getting out from underneath the pile and survive. I also uncorked the queen’s cage hoping she’ll get a jump start on laying - there’s lots of comb from the previous colony.

I’m going to call Kelley Beekeeping in the morning as this was obviously ongoing when I picked them up - though I expect them to say once I took possession they are no longer liable.

Any suggestions or help would be appreciated. I will attach photos.

Attachments

·
Registered
899 Posts
There was a post on a local FB page by a woman who verbally described what you showed in your pictures.A package install with a top feeder.