Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to beekeeping this summer as a hobby, I only had one box/hive and I'm not yet concerned with honey production. I simply enjoy the idea of having them around, and helping out the pollinators. So the survival of any hive is all I am concerned about, even if it is severely stunted etc. Anyhow, someone dumped the hive, broke the box, and stole the frames from it two days ago... below is my current situation, and I would greatly appreciate any advice, however, not to be rude but I am not quite interested in hearing that its entirely doomed and I'm wasting my time yet. So spare the keystrokes for me on that :p:cool:

-This happened 2 days ago, Monday the 13th, in the middle of the afternoon sometime, likely around 4pm. The base for my box was a spool with about a 6" diameter cylinder through the middle vertically, with 2" openings on each side. I set up a wooden box over it with a 1" hole drilled in to make it through the night, as there were a lot of worker bees confused and still coming home to rest there, and rain/storms were predicted. Luckily we just got a light sprinkling.
-Then yesterday, tuesday the 14th, I was able to pick up a new hive box and got that set up about 5ft away from the makeshift spool thing in the evening around the time bees would be winding down for the night. The new box is the only one that I am providing food to now, and I have lured some into it with some of the honey/comb I had scraped off the lid during previous inspections.
-So far I have not spotted a queen or any drones to my knowledge. But the bees seem to be guarding that cylinder opening on the spool fairly intently, so I'm holding out the slightest bit of hope that perhaps shes in there. Or perhaps it is my understanding that its possible a new queen could be hatched to replace the one that was taken?

I am working with a langstroth 10 frame box by the way as well.