Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings!

I'm curious if anyone out there might have insight as to my current situation with bees. I've not had issues in the past, have never had to worry about bees, we always coexisted happily.....but in the last year or so, they are very attracted to me (I do have a theory). Solitary bees (I'm assuming guard bees?) buzz my head angrily all the time, out of the blue. I can no longer go outside without worrying about being buzzed/stung, which is a problem for me being as I'm a landscape designer and also have sensitivities to bee stings (more on that later). Last year I was attacked and stung by a very angry bee at a nature park. The park actually had hives right next to a main walking path towards the back section of the park, and this path also featured a bench, which I sat upon, not knowing about the hives nearby, oh my gosh! Unfortunately I was wearing a black top, and was using a large black and gold sun umbrella that day, so I was likely seen as a predator....in addition to scent possibly being a part of the equation. I had a straw hat on as well. The bee went for the back of my head, got tangled in my hair, and stayed with me intent to sting me, despite the fact that I removed my black shirt, ditched the umbrella, and ultimately ran, once I spotted the hives nearby. I was stung on the back of my head, towards the bottom. Ever since this event I seem to be singled out by solo bees.