Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there

I'm a very green beekeeper (picked up my very first nuc in April of this year)! I live near Portland, Oregon in a forested area outside of town. We have lots of native wildflowers, plentiful dandelions and poppies, and TONS of blackberries nearby (ferociously invasive, but delicious). Spring started early this year, and so far this summer has been punctuated by long bouts of rainfall, which means I've had to do a lot of waiting patiently for it to stop so I can inspect my hive. :p

I'm an amateur botanist so my appreciation for pollinators has led to my interest in keeping bees. I love observing their behavior, but I also have about nine million questions, some of which are far too specific for my general internet research, though I do a lot of independent research. I'm also a member of a local beekeeping club/school, but I thought it would be nice to join an online community as well to access differing opinions and alternative explanations- which I'm finding there is no shortage of in the world of beekeepers. ;)

·
Registered
1,392 Posts
what side of town are you on? I am over Boring Damascus.
Welcome

·
Registered
207 Posts
I'm brand new this year, too, in Portland. TVBA is a great club as well as PUB. PUB has a club apiary which is an invaluable learning resource. PUB has one more Zoom bee class which you can learn more about at their website. I am not a member of TVBA but I think they are doing informal Zoom group chats as well.

·
Registered
6a 4th yr 7 colonies inc. resource hive
637 Posts