Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, here's the skinny on me..... I work as a registered nurse at our local hospital on Med-Surg and the ICU. I occasionally pick up shifts in the PACU if they need me. I used to keep fish tanks but space has ruled those out for the time being. I have off and on thought about keeping bees for several years, and that's all it has ever amounted to. Now that I'm a little more settled down in life I think I'm a little more able to give this prospective hobby a shot. The only two things that seem to be limiting me are space and know-how. I've been reading from many different sources and watching many videos on things I can do so I'm feeling more confident about things I'd like to do. But as far as space goes, I'm pretty limited living in some town houses... So one of two thoughts would be to keep in on my roof, outside of my bedroom window, which I never have open anyway, and it would be up out of the reach of pesky neighbor kids. The other thought is to put the hive in this water heater room in my garage and simply modify the entrance to where the bees can go out of some 4" pipe that is out of the ventilation duct to the little room. I can block off the rest of the ventilation space by some screen but I think the warmth of the room will give the bees a false sense of the actual weather.... So I don't believe that will work unless someone knows different. Either way, I'm anxious to get started if I'm able to, and I'll be reading through many of these forums to see what additional knowledge I can gain. If there is anyone else on here that lives in SW Wyoming, I'd love to come check out your setup to see what you to to manage the bitter cold we experience here.

·
Registered
143 Posts