Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Beekeepers!
I am a novice beekeeper with 2 hives in my suburban yard just south of Boston. I am working langstroth, foundationless, treatment-free, natural size bees. We installed five-frame nucs raised in Putnam County, NY on June 7th....a little late, but we really wanted to wait for northern raised survivors.

No matter how much I read and research, new questions and concerns pop up by the week. I'm hoping that some of you "old hands" will be able to help out with your knowledge!

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks, Bob! How are your bees doing this year?

·
Registered
813 Posts
Thanks, Bob! How are your bees doing this year?
Great so far..... All but one are in double deeps with 2 supers.... Very busy up until a couple of weeks ago and now they vary day to day depending on what they can find.... Most recently they are working the local rose of Sharon (lots of it in my neighborhood)....;- )

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
LOL. I don't know them, don't really know too many people in town. Are they beeks?

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Good for you! I'm worried that mine are filling the brood nest with nectar and have stopped drawing comb (still none in the 1 medium super I put on 1 hive two weeks ago :-()

·
Registered
813 Posts
Good for you! I'm worried that mine are filling the brood nest with nectar and have stopped drawing comb (still none in the 1 medium super I put on 1 hive two weeks ago :-()
Hard to tell without more detail.... I assume you are in single deeps? In your last inspection, how much have they built out?

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·