Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi folks
I have been beekeeping for 3 years. Its a great hobby and I love beekeeping. I have 3 hives at present, one that wintered over and 2 new NUCs.
I inspected my hives today to find that I all 3 hives are full of all stages of brood, but very little honey stores. It has been a strange year for weather here in NC.
We had a very late frost in May this year. Also unusually rainy, then exceptionally hot then really rainy again. All my life the June bugs do not come out until June, this year I found 3 of the June bug exoskeletons on my back porch in May. The nectar flow is mostly over here and my hives have very little honey stores. Should I feed them sugar syrup? Or does anyone know what is going on with my bees. Help

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hello neighbor! Where in NC, I am in Mooresville, about 30 mi from Charlotte.
Hi there, how are your bees doing this year? I am a couple of hours from Charlotte about 40 minutes from Raleigh and 15 minutes from Burlington. The weather here has been really weird this year and my bees are focused on raising brood instead of their honey stores. I am concerned if they'll have enough going into winter. Should I feed them syrup or what to do.

·
Registered
424 Posts
I'm feeding a little heavier syrup , not 1:1. In this county the nectar has been washed out by lots of rain. It was cold and wet for red maple and the same weather for tulip poplar. There will be a small crop in the eastern part of the state and lots of robbing.

·
Registered
417 Posts
Hi there, how are your bees doing this year? I am a couple of hours from Charlotte about 40 minutes from Raleigh and 15 minutes from Burlington. The weather here has been really weird this year and my bees are focused on raising brood instead of their honey stores. I am concerned if they'll have enough going into winter. Should I feed them syrup or what to do.