Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just wanted to say hi!
I live in Brooklyn and just got my first hive this spring. I'm a total beginner and Beesource has been a really good resource for me but I'm just getting around to joining it now. I'm still learning how to use the forum but I saw that this was the place to introduce yourself.
I'm a bit nervous going into winter but hoping for the best.

·
Registered
7,977 Posts
Welcome. Hopefully you are treating your varroa mites and making sure your colony has adequate stores to survive thru the long cold winter.

·
Registered
2,339 Posts
Just wanted to say hi!
I live in Brooklyn and just got my first hive this spring. I'm a total beginner and Beesource has been a really good resource for me but I'm just getting around to joining it now. I'm still learning how to use the forum but I saw that this was the place to introduce yourself.
I'm a bit nervous going into winter but hoping for the best.
Welcome.

·
Registered
58 Posts
Welcome, I am from Upstate NY Finger Lakes area. My first year also. It is nerve wracking for sure. I just added 3 one gallon cans of feed to my hive as it is a bit light. Hoping the weather stays warm enough for them to bring it down into the hive. I have done a few things wrong, so keeping my fingers crossed.

·
Registered
2,339 Posts
Welcome, I am in the western Catskills. Enjoy your beekeeping, it seems there is never a full moment. Deb

·
Registered
6a 3rd yr 5 production hives 1/ 2 q resource hive
475 Posts
Welcome. The first year is a nail biter. Getting on top of mites is priority 1 closely followed by feeding to winter weight. Once you’ve successfully over wintered your hives it gets less stressful. I’m a 3rd year and just put hives to bed in 6a.