Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, Dan here! I'm just getting started with two package bees,all new equipment,and hives.Major disappointment already. One of the colonies disappeared today.I,ll use this forum to try and find out if I made a mistake or what went wrong Anyway, good luck too all of you!

·
Registered
10,025 Posts
What steps did you use to put the package bees in the hive?
Did you have the whole hive there ready to seal up or run to get a missing piece?
Did you take the syrup can out of the package and put it on the new hive?
Did you remove the queen cage from the package and put it in the new hive?
Did you release the queen from the cage?
Did you shake the bees in the hive or place the bees cage and all in the hive?
Were there frames in the hive?
Did they have foundation, comb, or nothing?Was the hive still together when you determined they were missing?
Is the queen still in the cage in the hive?

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·