Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, I am a novice beekeeper in Subiaco, Arkansas. I currently have five hives, all inherited from a friend who recently moved away. I had an opportunity to learn and work with him, but am having a problem if you all wouldn't mind helping.

I have tried on two separate occasions to inspect one of my hives. I approach from the rear, smoke the entrance, pop the lid a bit and smoke it. On both hives I have attempted this, the top medium is empty, with no activity, no comb, only foundation. When I remove this hive, the bees in the second medium immediately attack. The first time, I smoked only the lid, but on the second attempt, I smoked the second medium as well, same reaction. I have a bee jacket which protects my upper body and head, but they are able to sting me through my jeans. Any advice? Another friend who is a beekeeper said the bees don't know my scent, that it will take time for them to be acustomed to my smell. Any validity to that theory? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

·
Registered
970 Posts
Hi Arkie, welcome

Sounds like the could just be mean bees if you can call the guy that left them to you and get the low down on this hive

There is different reasons for them being mean
#1 There just mean hope not any AHB

#2 There under some kind of stress Parasite's like mites or hive Beatles could have caught them in the process of getting ready to swarm, No Queen and all you have is older bees which tend to be meaner than normal with out a queen. Hungary no feed in the hive,or they just don't like your smoker fuel.

Work slow and deliberate don't bam slam things, some bees are more meaner when Jarred or bang around on.

If you have a entrance feeder feed for a few days then try checking. Feed later in the evening so you don't get the bees trying to rob.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Hi JJ,