Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 89 Posts

·
Registered
2,326 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We have not had any inspection or cleansing days all winter. Finally got in them at 45degrees to add pollen and check feed. I had 24 colonies in 2 yards. One has 3 left alive and the other has 4. Only one out of all of them would i consider thriving. I've been doing this for 6 years and this is the worst year yet. Normally 30 percent losses for various reasons. I did add ten queens last year but lost track of which hives they were in.
Details
All dead have
  • Plenty of stores. Fed heavily. All hives one or 2 deeps at least 100 pounds.
  • small clusters even though went into winter with queen and at least 4 full frames of bees in a 10frame deep.
  • treated with MAQ's in spring and Apivar in dearth before fall flow. One or two oav's in November for fun. Never had count above 2. usually zero or 1.
- Upper entrance and quilt boxes. Even in dead hives quilt boxes dry.
  • More then expected bees not dead in cluster. Like they were wandering around
  • Fall feed 2-1 sugar syrup with some vinegar and food coloring.
  • Open entrances with metal mouse gaurds and top entrance on each hive.

In yard one the 3 left alive all look to have dysentry as they are pooping out the entrance but the dead are all clean fronts.

Both yards were healty all year and i'm really at a loss as to what i'm missing. Both are on hay farms with woods and fields to forage. Literally hundreds of acres. No foulbrood issues seen.
Any ideas or what i should be looking for?

·
Premium Member
2,480 Posts
That’s difficult to diagnose because they can’t be seen personally; the one desctiption of wandering bees and lots of honey might be no queen, or a virus, maybe n. cerana, but can’t be certain. What I am certain of is keeping very good notes on all your hives. Keep a card on your inner cover, or write on duct tape, something so you don’t drive yourself crazy trying to remember. Keep us posted. :)