Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a newbie and trying to treat varroa without chemicals. A experienced and very good beekeeper who is also anti chemical mentioned an instrument that kills varroa by heat.
If anyone has used this could you tell me about it and what you think and just for kicks. Does it work. Pleeeeaase

·
Registered
186 Posts
Our beekeepers association and community college went in together and bought one to test out. They tried it multiple times on double deep hives. They found live varroa inside the capped drone brood after using it. They spoke with the owner of the company that makes them and he said he uses it on single deeps with good results. Most beekeepers here run doubles. Multiple studies over the years have also shown that exposing a queen to high temperatures like those used by this device drastically reduce the number of viable sperm a queen has (by about 50%). Queens typically release around 4 to 6 sperm for each egg. So, even if half her sperm are killed, the effects would not be immediately noticeable unless the queen had a low viable sperm count to begin with. However, I suspect that repeated use would shorten the amount of time the queen would be able to lay well before being superseded.

·
Registered
512 Posts
I am a newbie and trying to treat varroa without chemicals. A experienced and very good beekeeper who is also anti chemical mentioned an instrument that kills varroa by heat.
If anyone has used this could you tell me about it and what you think and just for kicks. Does it work. Pleeeeaase
It DOES work if you follow the directions. If you have question and want to talk to other beekeepers who are using the Mighty Might Killer try this place:

https://www.facebook.com/groups/275791919813444/

·
Registered
512 Posts