Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good day. I have two main questions that i will try to keep brief. This is my first year and first/only hive that came from a package.
1. It took the package 7 weeks to draw out the first 8 of 10 frames of plastic foundation. I added a second deep hive body last week and the bees drew out 8 of the 10 frames in one week (sucking down some sugar syrup 1:1). I know their numbers are growing but is that normal to draw out the second hive body so fast?
2. I had planned on requeening with a local queen anyway. Now I am considering splitting the bees and taking a frame or two of bees and brood to a nuc along with the queen and leaving the original hive with a new queen.

My questions: Is this a bad idea? Are their fallacies in my plan/logic? If I do this, should I move the nuc far away from the original hive? If so, how far? Have you ever had success with something like this?

Thank you all sooooo much!!! Screen Shot 2015-05-17 at 4.08.12 PM.jpg Screen Shot 2015-05-17 at 4.05.52 PM.jpg

·
Registered
1,314 Posts
Question #1....no such thing as drawing comb too fast.

#2....your queen has a very nice brood pattern (she's a keeper), but you can split and add a new queen if you want to increase your hive count. You don't have to move the nuc far away, but if you keep it close you will loose most of your present foragers (they will go back to the original hive). Make sure you give the nuc something to eat (honey & pollen). A couple of frames of brood like you have pictured will rebound quickly. Good luck.

·
Registered
311 Posts