Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
1,822 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am a home-schooled sophomore in high school and my parents and I are planing out my next few years in school. I am very interested in commercial beekeeping. I should have enough hives that I can split as I get bigger. I have relatives in the Carpenter, SD area that I could take bees to and have relatives that have an almond farm in CA. I am working on my own queen rearing also.
My questions are as follows-
1. What college or dual credit courses does one need to be successful? and/or what college classes were beneficial to you?
2. Is it best to work w/ a commercial beekeeper for a season or two? If so, any recommendations in east texas?
3. Any recommendations as to rate of growing numbers of hives, when to get a forklift, when to go to pallets, when to get 12' flatbed etc.
4. These days, where is the money made in commercial beekeeping?

I am a hard worker so I feel that if I can build up the capitol for my business I can make my business work for me.

Kingfisher aka mike

·
Registered
2,488 Posts
1. What college or dual credit courses does one need to be successful? and/or what college classes were beneficial to you?
2. Is it best to work w/ a commercial beekeeper for a season or two? If so, any recommendations in east texas?
3. Any recommendations as to rate of growing numbers of hives, when to get a forklift, when to go to pallets, when to get 12' flatbed etc.
4. These days, where is the money made in commercial beekeeping?
1 - I would recommend a business major. Make sure you take quick books as part of that.

2 - Yes, work for a commercial beek for a few seasons so you know what you are getting into. Commercial beekeeping is different then hobby beekeeping and is very demanding work. Plus you will learn ways to manage your bees that is conducive to running a business. What you pick up can save you tens of thousands in your own operation.