Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone have a favorite specs for their grafting set up. I've never done this before and I'm just trying to get an idea of how careful I need to be when grafting. For example, there is a cool room in our cabin, and I am planning on running a humidifier when I graft (mid to late June) and I was planning on having a reading lamp over my head to help me see the tiny 12 hour old larva. Also the bee yard is a 1/4 mile up the mountain from our cabin. Am I going overboard with the humidifier? Will lamp light damage larva? Is a 1/4 mile walk with a frame of young larva too much? How much of a window do I have before I need to put the grafted cells in the cell finisher nuc?

·
Vendor
Local feral survivors in eight frame medium boxes.
54,120 Posts
Cover the grafts with a wet towel. Work quickly. I'd worry more about good light, and no fan to dry them out. I do it at the kitchen table. I turn off the fan (if one is running) and do it quickly and take them back out quickly. I've done it in the front seat of the minivan in outyards...

·
Registered
231 Posts
Covering both works well for me. I cut strips of paper towels, wet them and warm them in the microwave and cover the cells on the bar as I go. A warm damp towel works best for taking to the yard.

·
Registered
970 Posts