Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello I am pretty new to this and I have two hives this year and am trying to figure out how to get them through a michigan winter. I bought two hotboxes and I made hive wraps but now I'm stuck. I have the ultimate bottom board and hive stand under both hives. They are screen bottoms with beetle traps idk if I can keep those in place or take them off and put on a solid bottom?. the next problem is how do I feed my fondant without messing up the air flow to the hotbox? Do I just put it on the top of the frames? I am really stuck any help would be greatly appreciated
Thanks

·
Registered
5 ,8 ,10 frame, and long Lang
3,481 Posts
Hi Val,

welcome to Beesource

where in Michigan?
what is the hive configuration?
Expand the "Hot Box" what is it?

the stuck ? will the hive wraps not fit with your beetle traps in place or what is the stuck about, can you just not put the wrap on as is?

you need to help define your issue with a bit more detail, I am not sure what to offer, other that you should have got stuck 4 weeks ago it is November and here this AM was in the 20's

Next week looks like 60's I'd do the hive manipulation elements then as it may be the last chance.

GG

·
Premium Member
1,659 Posts
Just make sure they don't have mites and they have 60+ pounds of honey and no way for rain to get in. If they have mites, or not enough food - their chances aren't so great.

As a new beekeeper my first question is mites. How many mites do they have? When did you treat?

Here's the hot box. 10 Frame Hot Box and Moisture Board

·
Premium Member
1,659 Posts
one can DIY "hotbox" for quite a lot less.

Again - that hotbox won't prevent you from buying Mann Lake bees in the spring if you didn't apply the Mann lake mite treatments.

sold seperately.

Did you buy the mann lake prosweet sugar? That's sold separately.

If not you can buy the mann lake fondant, also sold separately.

·