Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Getting bees and using old scrap wood

I'll start by saying that I'm a total newbie and I don't have any connections IRL that can help me out. :eek:

I should be receiving The Barefoot Beekeeper in the mail either today or tomorrow and I plan on taking a class in March, but everything I'm reading tells me that I need to order bees by December. I read a small excerpt in Mother Earth News that said I could bait my hive in hopes of attracting bees the first year. Is that really possible/likely that I would be able to get a wild swarm?

*Edited to Add another question*

We have a bunch of old barn wood sitting out back. It's about 12" wide and it's all 1" thick and it's about 100 years old. Is there any reason that I (not really me, actually my husband) should not use that wood when making hives. Would there be anything in the wood (chemicals or old nails) which would be toxic or cause other issues for bees?

·
Registered
342 Posts
Hi Isis,
It is possible to catch a wild swarm, but I wouldn't count on it. Order a nuc. Contact a local beekeeping club and ask them if any of their members sell nucs in the Spring. Buying LOCAL bees is BEST. Order them now. It is probably best to start with two hives, that way if one acts strangely, you'll be able to tell the difference. Spend the winter putting together equipment, your smoker, and a bee suit. Do LOTS of reading. Take that class. Remember that you don't have to do things perfectly. You are housing 60,000 little engineers who will help arrange things. It is a LOT of fun. The only thing you are likely to regret is the fact you didn't start last year.

·
Registered
663 Posts
Being that you're going to be using a top bar hive (frameless/foundationless), I would order a package or packages rather than a nuc. You can generally order packages later than December and some will be available.