Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My two hives have swarmed 4 times in the last 2 months, two of those likely from the same hive within the last week.
I have tried to be thorough about destroying queen cells. In any case they are trying to get out of here.
Temps have been between 20C to 30C or 70F and 85F.
I pulled out the bottom trays have removed entrance reducers for air circulation. There is plenty of space for them, each having two brood boxes that are 65% full, and each also having an excluder then small super on top. They are barely into the supers yet.
Should I be cracking the covers a bit for ventilation? I have been mixing the empty frames with the full frames, and had two swarms right after.
I am not noticing the bees bringing any pollen back lately. If I feed them are they more likely to stay? I'm new to this but have been reading up, but there still must be something I am missing.
Thanks again for any help.

·
Registered
702 Posts
Are these new packages?
If so, they shouldn't really swarm.
Haven't got a solution for you, I'm a newbie, first year as well!
You can put a screen vent on the cover, I just have done on mine today, the bees are hot and allot of them outside.
Konrad

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
They were both good sized nucs from this year. What is a screen vent? Is it as basic as it sounds?
Antero that's a great page. That's the first I've seen of it and there is heaps of info on all aspects.
Thanks.

·
Registered
342 Posts
I've had the same problem...4 swarms from one or two of my 3 package hives...now I have 5 colonies. But probably my fault. They have three deep brood boxes packed and are on their second honey supers and are bearding 3 thick on the front of the boxes and under the cover. Vent holes in each deep and top propped up a bit. Italian bees from CA. This isn't normal for packages right? They are in Beemax polystyrene if that is of interest.

·