Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
5,183 Posts
Don't worry about it - satisfy your curiosity - it's how you learn. Plan to expand a bit and you can spread your attention around a little next year.

·
Registered
5,373 Posts
Opinions vary -> I've been opening many of my hives, almost every day, for more than forty years (except Winters when I lived in temperate climates). Maybe it's caused them problems, maybe not. It's done wonders for me, I greatly enjoy watching what the bees do inside their home. I keep the bees for my enjoyment, not theirs, I guess I'm just selfish that way.

·
Registered
574 Posts
It will affect the bees slightly... but we're talking about setting them back only by a few minutes here... if you're only doing that a couple of times a week, don't worry about it at all... now if it's a few times an hour, then you might be creating a real problem.

·
Registered
869 Posts
My first hive I was in that thing ALL THE TIME! I would say I opened the hive about every day to every other day. How else was I suppose to feed them with an internal feeder? Plus like everyone else, I think they are facinating creatures, I couldn't help but be constantly curious. Heck, imagine just minutes before having to go to work and having a swarm land on you the eves of your house. Scrambling equipment together and trying to scoop the bees off the roof, into a hive, only inches from where they are hanging. Then rush off to work and for the next 8 hours feel like a kid on Christmas and driving your co-workers nuts for the next 8 hours by wondering what the bees are doing now? :p

C2

·
Registered
207 Posts
I use screen inner covers during the summer. Makes it easy to take the outer cover off and look down. I can watch the progress of the top super with very little disturbance to the bees.

·
Registered
7,827 Posts