Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi All,
To make a long story short. A friend of mine that lives around the corner from me told me he has colony of feral bees living in his giant willow tree. We looked at it and the entrance is only 4 ft off the ground. The bees have been there for at least 10 years. So this is a great survivor colony. He said they are mine for the taking however he does not want me to cut into the tree at all. The problem, how do I get them or a portion of them out of the cavity. He doesn't mind them being there so this would be a good colony for future restocking over the years. Any help would be much appreciated. To put things in persective I am brand new to beekeeping have brand new hives no drawn comb or experience but willing to learn.
Thanks in advance.:scratch:
Pete
The other question I had is. Is it too late to try to catch a swarm from this colony this year? I can leave them alone for now and try next year.

·
Registered
507 Posts
Put a box with frames and foundation into the hive body and put up in the tree or on a stand. Get a cotton ball with a few drops of lemon grass oil and put the cotton ball inside. You might want to consider ordering "nasanov" pheremone and putting inside as well.

When the colony grows to swarm size, your box (their new home) will be prepped and ready for them to move in.

Good luck.

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Could someone answer the second question I had, If it's too late to try and catch a swarm from them this year or should I leave them alone until next season. I don't want to take a swarm and not have enough time to build them up so they can overwinter OK.
thanks for helping me out in advance
Pete

·
Registered
81 Posts