Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone,

I'm new to beekeeping, I acquired some equipment last year (that I plan on TRYING ti use this year) that I have been more closely inspecting. All of my frames, mostly hive body frames but also several small super frames, have no sort of wires or anything within the "space". I was visiting with a friend last night and all of his frames had some sort of wire going from the top of his frame's to the bottom. Should frames have several wires running through them? More importantly, do I need to purchase all new frames or can I just modify them by inserting some wiring in the correct dimensions( the proper gauge of course)?

I dont want to cut corners, but I am on a bit of a tight beekeeping budget. I'm trying to be as self-sufficient as possible so that I spend the money I do have on the more important things.

Any thoughts on the matter would be greatly appreciated!!

Dan

·
Registered
8,269 Posts
The wiring is no huge expense and you can indeed use monofilament fishing line. The wires are to support wax foundation. Do you have any of that? If not, you need to acquire an amount necessarry to fill your frames or go foundationless. To do that search foundationless frames and read all about it. But this is the least of your concerns really. If I were you I would get foundation. It is much easier for a novice to manage the bees, or at least one less thing that can go wrong. Past that, do a lot of reading of old posts. Hundreds have come on this forum in the same place and space you are and probably every concievable question you may have has been already answered. My suggestion is to do some reading. The big concern you have is where you are going to get bees at this late date. There is a for sale section on this forum, read the old posts and you will find leads on bees to follow up. Welcome.

·
Registered
358 Posts