Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
192 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have looked at the plans for a jig on this site and am confused on why they use non standard widths on spacers. I am a very novice woodworker and want to put together my own frames with a jig that is effective but easy to make. Any other suggestions?

Also, anyone have experience with Western Bee Supply and their unassembled frames? Feedback please.

Thanks for all the great posts, I get tons of helpful info here.

Soapy

·
Registered
307 Posts
Western Bee Supply = Dadant.

Dadant gets all there wood ware from Western Bee Supply I think they own them.

·
Registered
7,079 Posts
I looked at the .pdf file on the Beesource frame nailing jig and it looks OK to me, same as they have been made for decades. Mine has foam rubber on the inside of the folding door to more firmly push on the sidebars.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Western Bee frames are good frames, But make sure that you end up getting all the right pieces. Before you have to have them, they made my order right with no problem but there was a mix up in parts. I will use them again.

·
Registered
951 Posts
good video.

One should add the extra step,though,of using a small glue brush to spread the glue up the sides of the cutout.

The strongest glue bond is side grain and not end grain.

·
Registered
647 Posts