Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
146 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been keeping bees for a few years now and am plenty satisfied with the setup I have and the foundation and frames I have been using. But, I am interested in trying foundation less frames as well. I don't want to start the argument about whether natural cell size will fix all my mite problems (I don't believe it will) but I feel it has some benefits to the hive.

Anyway, where is the best place to buy foundation less frames. Do they make frames designed for this that have a triangular top bar. Do I just uses regular frames and skips the foundation. (Since I'll be putting them between drawn frames, I probably won't have a ton of trouble getting them drawn correctly.) if sou. Is there a particular design that works best?

I'd appreciate advice from anyone with experience. Thanks I'm advance.

·
Registered
5,373 Posts
I believe the supplier, Kelley, sells Top Bars for foundationless frames, designed with a comb guide. Though I don't believe they currently sell End Bars that are 1-1/4" wide; if you were also looking to run narrower frames. If you did choose to use narrow End Bars, you'd also want to trim the Top Bars down to 7/8" width, so there is an appropriate bee space between the Top Bars, when the frames are in the hives.

I make my own wooden foundationless frames - that way, I control the design and everything else about the frames.

Below is an image linked to SketchUp plans of one of my foundationless designs -->

·
Registered
535 Posts
I run mostly foundationless. When dropping between two drawn frames they don't need anything.
With groove top bars I glue a paint stir stick or Popsicle sticks in the groove. Most of mine are wedge type with the wedge glued on edge.

·
Registered
136 Posts