Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
161 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
And eggs! And pissed off some bees...

Sorry, I don't have a question. I'm just so excited I finally found her! It only took me 2 months. I was looking for some young brood or eggs to transfer into my new hive and wanted to be extra sure she wasn't on there. I found one with lots of empty cells. Or what LOOKED like empty cells. I looked really close and saw eggs. These are the first eggs I've actually seen. Dang, I need a magnifying glass. I studied and studied and finally found a bee who was longer than their wings! I watched her for a bit and watched the bees around her and, yep, she was a queen. Much smaller than I expected, though, based on some photos I've seen on here.

So I took the brood on the frame next to her. Then I learned what pissed off bees act like. I must have squashed one with my hive tool because they got to where they did NOT like the hive tool. Then they started bombarding my veil. I know what you guys mean now when the bees start hitting you. I backed off about 10 feet and waited for them to go away. I still needed to even out my frames and add one back in. They didn't make it easy. I kept having to back off. I'm really surprised they didn't sting me since they could have gotten my legs or upper arms. I was wearing capris and a white t-shirt and gloves that came almost to my sleeves but not all the way. I'm not yet brave enough to go gloveless. I hadn't even lit the smoker because I hadn't really needed it up to today. My gloves must have gotten some alarm pheromone on them too because they kept swarming on them and trying to bite them.