Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am new to bee keeping and live in the SF bay area and am doing my best at reading, learning and keeping bees using no chemical intervention, but could use some advice. Got a package of Carniolans at the end of April and have been using foundationless frames the whole time. Also was moving/interspersing new empty frames into the center of the broodnest (leaving at least 2 full frames on either side) to get them to start drawing smaller cell size and keep the broodnest open to keep them from swarming (at least that is what I think the purpose is). I now have 5 medium 10 frames boxes (with follower boards, so 8 frames in each box). All frames are drawn out except the top box which only has 2 drawn frames. Originally, I was doing unlimited brood nest, and nadiring, but there seemed to be brood in all 4 boxes and a little brood in almost all the frames and I didn't want to kill them by harvesting those frames, so I finally put a queen excluder above them and the 5th medium on that. I was checking them every week or week and a half for a while, but have been out of town so I did my first check in a 3 weeks today. I found 5 or 6 queen cells in the bottom box that were already opened up, one of them might have been closed still. Also, only a little brood in the next box above that and all honey in the top three boxes. It doesn't seem like they swarmed -- my partner didn't notice anything while I was gone and there still appear to be 4 full boxes of bees. What does this mean? Do I have a new queen? Should I worry that there is so little brood now, or is that normal when we have a super cold summer like we've been having? Also, should I leave all 16 frames of honey for them to get through winter? Thank you in advance for any insight or advice!

·
Registered
970 Posts